A PRU Teacher’s Promise

I promise to do my best…For the profession and for God and the Queen!
On my life and the life of my dearly beloved (including the cats…I mean especially the cats ..no..) I swear to :
Work 12 hour days until I can physically and mentally do so no longer ( zimmer frame optional…..useful for pinning recalcitrant kids against wall?).
Love all our children unconditionally, even the ones who call me a f*****g bitch and deliberately attack me with an improvised weapon!
Continue to pretend to colleagues that we’ll be fine when OFSTED eventually descend on us cos we were outstanding twice before (pinky promise).
Happily support and reassure newish head teacher in teeth of impending OFSTED cos we were outstanding twice before and goals have only changed a little bit (pinky promise).
Reassure myself and others that it is ok to permanently exclude young children.
Advise mainstream schools that it is ok to permanently exclude young children and that it is the fault of the bad -wicked powers- that -be -who -give- us- more- money -and -don’t -make- us- pay- transport- costs -as -they -do- for- admission -places!
Give strategies to mainstream for young children who I know full well will be permanently excluded…..soon.
Listen to mainstream schools tell lies…I mean ask for respite for one or two terms ….re children who come to us for help.
Nod sympathetically when said mainstream schools explain why they can’t take respite children back.
Sit in two hour meetings giving strategies for child back from our PRU in mainstream who is struggling again only for child to be perm -exed the very next day.
Struggle with new SEN Code of Practice which means that BESD children now have to be SEMH even if they’ve no mental health issues! Goodbye EHC plan!
Listen to County wallah who is taking the redundancy/retirement shilling in March say this is fab cos it stops all the behavioural children from ‘clogging up the system’.

Sorry but I can’t go on, my cup of bitterness spilleth over! I ask again…who will speak out for the dispossessed and those on the fringes of society? Tristram Hunt? His very name drips with privilege! !! His words speak of nonsense!

Again I ask…. (dramatic pause)….who will help me keep my promise?

Standard

Leave a Reply

